Eportfolio Public Presentation Tips for Pre-service Students

Eportfolio Presentation OK to Stellar

My tips for pre-service students giving their eportfolio public presentation:

Focus your comments on showing how you have met the proficiencies, not on your “wonderful and happy” times.

Show more than you tell. You say you believe in something but we need to see how you implemented your theory/belief in your classroom.

Use “I” statements such as “I structured the lesson so….” Avoid “You should..” or “When teachers….” Tell what you did.

Back up each general statement with a specific classroom example. “I assessed students” can be supported by “Here’s a pre-test, here’s a during the activity assessment, and here’ a post-test on their ability to write.”

Use reflection words to emphasize what you’ve learned such as “I learned”, “Now I know….”, “I found out ….. “, and “Next time I will….” Show your desire to improve.

Explain the richness of a learning experience instead of saying “My students did a map exercise.” say “I differentiate by having them put together a map, label it, and say the names of the states in the areas.”

Identify your areas for growth in specific terms. “I still need to improve in class management. I’ve tried ….. but I need more techniques.”

Show what your students did as a result of what you taught them. Don’t focus on what you taught but do focus on your students’ learning. Show the results of your teaching.

Be passionate and excited about teaching and learning. Gesture. Be animated.

Describe what you learned from doing an activity rather than dwelling on the details of the activity. ”

Don’t read the screen to the audience. Expand on it. Give more examples.

By using this presentation hints, you’ll shine in your eportfolio for the great teacher you have become!

© Harry Grover Tuttle, 2007

——–

0 Responses to “Eportfolio Public Presentation Tips for Pre-service Students”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Blog Stats

  • 809,852 hits